Welcome to the NAACP-Maricopa County Branch

Since 1919, the Maricopa County Branch of the NAACP has been fulfilling the promise of equal rights for all people by fighting for and addressing civil rights issues in Maricopa County. Today, our branch is proud to carry on the goals and objectives of the NAACP National Office and continues to be active in advocating equality for all citizens.

Over the years, the Maricopa County Branch of NAACP has made great strides to increase its membership and to advance our mission to ensure the political, educational, social and economic equality of rights of all persons and to eliminate race-based discrimination.

We welcome your ideas and expertise in helping develop strategies on our continued journey for justice and equality. The struggle for Civil Rights needs “All Boots” on the ground more than ever. If you are currently a member of the NAACP, thank you for your continued support. If you are not currently a member, we ask for your support and your membership because together we make a positive difference.

A New Vision for 2021

January 6th, 2021, the nation watched in horror the breach and sacking of the United States Capitol building by unlawful acts of breaking and entering. The violence witnessed yesterday illustrated the vast ideological divide in our country and the enormous need for leadership from the top to heal our nation. As Americans, we take pride historically in upholding our Constitutional 1st Amendment Rights which affords everyone the freedom of speech. However, the country has witnessed unprecedented tolerance for some out spoken groups, referred to as “fine people” and recent exhibitions of disdain for other members of society exercising their freedom of speech. The Maricopa County Branch NAACP supports peaceful protest and continues to condemn acts of violence, systemic racism, and unequal treatment of all citizens.  
The world is watching and waiting to see if the United States under our current leadership can live up to the traditions of the Foundering Fathers to deliver a peaceful transition of power on January 20th, 2021. The new vision is a “united” states of America that governs for all the people and, the Biden-Harris team has the challenge to bring the country together and restore peace and re-build democracy. It is our hope that the Biden-Harris team will implement a new vision for addressing our country’s ills that have been uncovered by the pandemic, such as vaccine distribution for Covid-19, food insecurity, unparalleled unemployment and needed police reform. The “call to action” for the incoming administration is social equity for all.
Karen Hardin, Ed. D., President

Community Connection